December Member of the Month – Ronnie Godfrey

1. Where are you from originally?
I am originally from Mississippi. In addition to North Carolina, I have also lived in California, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas.

2. What is your favorite exercise movement?
I don’t have a favorite or least favorite exercise movement. I am new to CrossFit and have worked with Sarah 3 times a week for almost 6 months in her Personal Training program. I am at a skill level to appreciate very fundamental progress or success.

3. What were you doing before Personal Training with Sarah? How did you hear about CrossFit Northlake/Northlake Bootcamp?
Before Personal Training, with Sarah, I was on a rocket sled to dietary and fitness hell! Although I was sad to say, enjoying the ride, I became concerned about where I was going. I had done some cursory research to learn a little about CrossFit about a year and a half ago, but I did not take any action. About 6 months ago I saw a Facebook video that a friend of my daughter had posted about her CrossFit workout, and it made me mindful of once again looking into CrossFit. I googled “CrossFit” and the closest facility to me was CrossFit Northlake. I responded to the “Contact” section of the website and as I recall stated, “I am a 6 foot, 306 lb, overweight, out of shape, 63-year-old male. Is CrossFit for me?” After a kind email response, I then met with Sarah at the facility, and my journey began.

4. What other sports or activities do you participate in besides Personal Training?
In addition to Personal Training, I currently do some walking, running and yoga; all begun in conjunction with my introduction to CrossFit. In addition I am an occasional golfer.

5. How many times per week do you workout?
I workout with Sarah 3 times a week.

6. What is your athletic background?
In high school, I played baseball, basketball and a little football. I also played a year of Jr. College baseball.

7. Give us some insight as to your thoughts after your first workout at CrossFit Northlake.
After my first CrossFit workout I was reminded of just how far I had allowed the pendulum of good health to swing so vastly in the wrong direction.

8. Do you have any special or favorite Northlake PT memories/moments?
Everyday is special for me at CrossFit Northlake. I look forward to the time I spend there. I have clearly defined goals and objectives that I get to work on with Sarah; a knowledgeable, professional trainer whose focus and ability, for a scheduled hour is concentrated on those same goals and objectives. The mutual goals include, as I become more physically fit, options to progress to Bootcamp or CrossFit Group.

9. What advice would you give to a newbie or someone looking to join the Northlake Fitness Family?
To a newbie or someone looking for or just joining the Northlake Fitness Family, I would say, “Welcome to CrossFit Northlake! You have chosen well, and will have access to knowledgeable and professional trainers to help you define, refine, reach and surpass your goals”!

10. What is your eating style?
My eating style has to be categorized as “Before Sarah” and “Since Sarah”.

Before I started working with Sarah, I was the poster child for eating unhealthily. I sadly, but thoroughly enjoy, the delectable gourmet items and tasty treats you can get at most any fast food drive-through window. Fried foods are not only the nectar of the gods, and a part of my cultural heritage, they just taste oh, so good! And let’s not forget pizza! Well, maybe we should forget pizza . . .or at least the volume of pizza I enjoy eating.

Since I have been working with Sarah, and following with her direction, a macronutrient diet, I have learned to eat better, and have lost 43 lbs; ⅓ of my goal to lose 130 lbs.

11. What kind of results have you seen since starting your Personal Training at Northlake?
Since I have started Personal Training at Northlake I have seen positive results. In addition to losing 43 lbs, I have lost 8 inches in my waistline. I have learned that physically inactive people can lose as much as 3% to 5% of their muscle mass each decade after age 30. Since I am now 64 that is even more significant to me.

***Here’s an example that is simple, but oh so important!***

Unlike before, I now have the ability to squat and to stand up without holding on to something or needing assistance. This simple, basic ability does not have to be lost because we can build muscle.

Before I started working with Sarah, I was knocking on the door of type 2 diabetes.

In reference to Type 2 diabetes, and determined by drawing blood from your pricked finger, an A1C level below 5.7 percent is considered normal. An A1C between 5.7 and 6.4 percent signals prediabetes. Type 2 diabetes is diagnosed when the A1C is over 6.5 percent. My A1C is now 5.4%, a 2 point reduction from the 5.6% I received the last 2 times it was tested.

At a medical check-up my blood pressure was 110/80 referred to as “Awesome” by the medical staff. This was an improvement over my prior visits where blood pressure was

124/90 and 124/82.

My time for 800 meters has dropped from 10.76 minutes to 5.53 minutes; a reduction of 5.23 minutes.

12. What do you do for a living?
I recently retired from a successful sales career.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *